Author Topic: CPU upgrade  (Read 3797 times)

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
CPU upgrade
« on: May 15, 2013, 09:32:38 AM »
Decided to do some upgrades to my desktop. Current CPU is 2.66.

How do I go about determining if this CPU will be compatible with my mobo?

http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemNumber=N82E16819103727

jeepidude

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Karma: 8
  • Ford/Dodge/Hondadude
    • Facebook
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 09:47:16 AM »
You're gonna have to find some identifying info on your mobo and see what socket type it has, or figure out exactly what CPU you have and find out what socket it has. That new AMD CPU requires an AM3 socket.

BTW that processor came out 4 years ago, I'd be looking at an Intel socket mobo/CPU or at least a more current CPU.

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2013, 11:20:01 AM »
Well, that's y price range and the newer ones are between $200 and $300... My 2.66 has served me well for 5 years, just looking for some more juice, not to be top of the line.

When I get home I'll get the box my current CPU came in.

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2013, 03:32:28 PM »
Honestly, I would just throw a $20 heatsink/fan at it and overclock. You're not going to get your money's worth trying to find a processor upgrade for your socket. Sockets change all the time. If you built your machine a few years ago, the socket is different now and older generations tend to be pricey.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

angry hampster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: 38
    • Lexa Photography
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2013, 08:08:54 PM »
On your windows Device Manager (found in control panel) what does it say your processor is? "2.66" doesn't offer much insight.


Also, the difference in dual core vs quad core is negligible in most situations.

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2013, 08:21:12 PM »
AMD Athlon II X2 240. I'm assuming the X2 means dual core. Still gotta dig up the box for the mobo, it's in the attic. Kal, I'm open to overclocking... but i have no idea how to do it.

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2013, 10:06:46 PM »
X2 is definitely dual core. As Hamp said, bumping up to quad is negligible if you're not getting a good bump in cache and clock speed.

You probably won't get much of a boost with overclocking either, but it's the cheapest solution.

Honestly, I would just save up money for a rebuild. You could salvage your case, drives (optical/disk), video card, and possibly PSU if it's a good brand and minimum 400W. Is your RAM DDR3? If it is, you can save that too, although it's so cheap anymore than running anything less than 8GB is pointless now. You're looking at $300-400 for a new mobo and CPU if you don't watch for a deal.

This mobo (comes with 8GB RAM for free) + this CPU and you won't have to look back for 4-5 years. You could also save $50 by going with this mobo and just watch for a deal on RAM (or re-use yours if it's DDR3) but it may not be worth it.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2013, 10:51:31 PM »
Everything I've got is pretty decent. I just don't remember the names and ratings of all my shit... but I bought good stuff.

I have the ICE Q Radeon HD 5770 graphics card..

PSU is an Antec Earthwatts 500w i think, maybe bigger.

500 gb system drive and 1TB media drive...

I think I've got a measly 2gb RAM. GSkill... dno't remember if it's DDR3 or not. I'm gonna dig out the box tomorrow and give you the actual specs for everthing.

Even so my computer can still handle the likes of the new Tomb Raider game on almost max settings... there are some hiccups but it pulls it off. I don't need to go big, but I would like a few more ponies under the hood if you know what I mean. I'm considering that board and processor you suggested but I just dno't know if I can justify spending that kind of money on my computer when it's still really keeping up just fine (for now).

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2013, 11:09:01 PM »
Was it a Newegg order? You can just look up your order and get all the specs that way. That would be the easiest.

It's just not worth it for "a few ponies". $100 for a 5% increase in speed or $300 for a 100% increase. Throw a $20-30 Coolmaster Hyper 212 heatsink at that CPU I linked and you can bump it up to 4.6Ghz easily -- maybe more.

Watch for a good deal on a 180GB SSD ($140, maybe less) and you'll be blazing.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

angry hampster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: 38
    • Lexa Photography
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2013, 09:22:55 AM »
Was it a Newegg order? You can just look up your order and get all the specs that way. That would be the easiest.

It's just not worth it for "a few ponies". $100 for a 5% increase in speed or $300 for a 100% increase. Throw a $20-30 Coolmaster Hyper 212 heatsink at that CPU I linked and you can bump it up to 4.6Ghz easily -- maybe more.

Watch for a good deal on a 180GB SSD ($140, maybe less) and you'll be blazing.

This man does not lie. I've got an intel i5-2500k and a $25 heatsink. Running 4.4GHz completely stable without touching voltage. If I put time into it, I could squeeze more juice out of it. Stability is key for me as I use my computer for professional purposes, so 4.4 is healthy enough.

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2013, 09:32:48 AM »
Good call, Kalgorn... here's the full rundown.

GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128394

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231098

AMD Athlon II X2 240 Regor 2.8GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor ADX240OCK23GQ - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103714

Antec EarthWatts EA-500D Green 500W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371035

HIS IceQ 5 H577QT1GD Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ Eyefinity
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161333

Western Digital WD Blue WD10EALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136534
(I also had a WD 500gb drive for the OS and other system files like games and stuff)

RAIDMAX Tornado ATX-238WRP Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case with Raidmax RX-450K 450W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811156239
(Ugly case but it was part of the bundle. Haven't had any issues with it whatsoever.)

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2013, 01:51:50 PM »
You're definitely shorted by your motherboard. It's socket AM3 which is pretty good (AM3+ is the newest) but it's only DDR2 memory. That CPU you linked is compatible and would be more of a bump than I expected (benchmarks shows 1644 for your current CPU, 4305 for the Phenom quad) but that i5-3570k I linked is 7123 with plenty of room to grow with overclocking and that's just the CPU alone. Bumping from DDR2 to DDR3 memory will be very noticeable, too.

I have the first generation i5 which is an i5-750 and it still chugs along just fine and that's taking in to account the next generation i5 was a significant improvement (the one Hamp has). Granted, I do have DDR3 memory and a GTX 470 graphics card, but I built this thing over 4 years ago and I expected to get another year out of it before I build something new. Intel just has the market by the balls.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2013, 03:57:48 PM »
So basically I could get the bit of extra horsepower I'm looking for with a new processor and maybe a couple more sticks of ram, but the best long term albeit more expensive choice would be a new mobo and CPU.

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2013, 06:43:11 PM »
You'll see an advantage with your CPU but you have to decide whether or not it's worth it. Your RAM is holding you back as well being DDR2. DDR2 isn't cheap like DDR3 is so increasing the amount of RAM will cost you a penny and it may not make a difference anyway if you're not capping out there. More RAM doesn't instantly mean better. If your amount of RAM isn't holding you back, adding more won't help.

I don't think you'll be disappointed if you upgrade to that CPU; however, I think you'll be blown away if you went to an i5.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

angry hampster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: 38
    • Lexa Photography
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2013, 09:15:51 AM »
So basically I could get the bit of extra horsepower I'm looking for with a new processor and maybe a couple more sticks of ram, but the best long term albeit more expensive choice would be a new mobo and CPU.


Before I got my i5-2500k, I had an Athlon X2 555BE, which I'd overclocked to about 3.8GHz. Mind you it was only dual core, but moving to the intel processor was night and day.  The intels are really that much better.

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2013, 11:15:41 AM »
It's true. I was an AMD fan before I was convinced to go with my i5-750 and now I'll never look back.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

00XJ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5856
  • Karma: -664
    • Carnage Racing
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2013, 11:19:40 AM »
That's probably what I'll do.

As far as adding more RAM, in my mind it's just nice to have the extra memory for those times when I do heavily taxing things to my computer (like processing GoPro videos and such, which I'll be doing a lot more of in the near future)... but as it stands I haven't really had any problems running out of memory that I can recall. Been a few times where things got a bit slow but I think that had more to do with program errors than maxing out the memory.

Then again, how much of video processing is done by the video card itself versus actual system memory?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2013, 11:20:54 AM by 00XJ »

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14081
  • Karma: 28
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2013, 12:03:13 PM »
RAM is just temporary storage. It doesn't do any processing.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

angry hampster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: 38
    • Lexa Photography
Re: CPU upgrade
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2013, 04:02:41 PM »
RAM is just temporary storage. It doesn't do any processing.

This is true. However, a good set of fast DDR3 sticks will help enormously simply due to being able to write/read quicker.