Author Topic: "use proxy server..."  (Read 2325 times)

speedy_2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 2
"use proxy server..."
« on: August 18, 2010, 03:25:03 PM »
This keeps getting changed on it's own.  it's spyware or something I'm sure.

But, I have removed spyware/malware that has done this before.  On this PC, all the scans come up clean but this remains.


Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14105
  • Karma: 28
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2010, 06:44:44 PM »
Have you tried Malwarebytes? I hear good things about it.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

speedy_2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 2
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 08:43:53 PM »
Yep.  I always use Malwarebytes.  I also use spybot.  Then an AVG scan.  That has always cleaned them up.  This one is a bit tricky.

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14105
  • Karma: 28
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2010, 08:59:27 PM »
What browser is it doing this to?

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

speedy_2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 2
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2010, 09:05:18 PM »
IE 8 

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14105
  • Karma: 28
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2010, 09:07:41 PM »
Well, stop using IE. That would solve your problem.

Seriously though, download Firefox and use that for a while. See if you have the same issue.

IE, even the updated version, is still riddled with security vulnerabilities and is still, in general, just a shitty browser.

Try Chrome as well. I will never look back. Now that Chrome has extensions like Firefox, I see no reason to go to any other.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

speedy_2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 2
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2010, 09:14:46 PM »
Yeah. It's  customer.  I'll try fire fox and see how he likes it.

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2010, 03:51:54 AM »
Stop using spybot. Pick up spysweeper and hijackthis. Spybot s&d is no longer effective. Half the stuff it "removes" is still there and fully functional.

Also try eset and/or nod32 in place of avg. Both are much more thorough than avg's slash command based heuristics.

While Im at it, pick up Upgrading and Repairing PCs by Scott Mueller. Most current edition is either 19th or 20th. Most of the stuff you ask is covered in that book. Very comprehensive and thorough.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 04:48:53 AM by Daemon »

speedy_2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 2
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2010, 10:17:10 AM »
Yeah heard of those others.  I have had great results with what I use. This is a first.

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: "use proxy server..."
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2010, 12:33:57 PM »
Wont be the last. Spybot is seriously dated. Dont trust my word for it, go google some reviews over the past year. Its not detecting many forms of spyware that are in use today. The ones it does catch it has no way to properly clean but it tells you it cleaned them. It also provides no protection from spyware being installed. This isnt my opinion. It comes from multiple pc security sources that test and rate the best programs out there. Spybot no longer breaks most peoples top 10.

Avg is still good but the slash command searches it does leaves a lot of room for things to slide through. These progams have become too popular, and as McCaffe and Nortons found out, people started writing code to hide and/or disable these programs. Time to move on and provide your customers with top of the line service.