Author Topic: Broke 4 ghz on OC!  (Read 2751 times)

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« on: August 12, 2010, 02:33:54 AM »
Read where many people were stuck at 3.8 on the I7 860. I'm proud to announce I've been running 4.013 ghz for 24 hours straight.  :yup: Prime95 for 10hrs. 45c (113f) idle and 73c (163.4f) max temp under Prime95

Memory is still at 1600 set at 8-8-8-24 @ 1.65v.









Not much considering the 965 BEs are hitting upwards of 12ghz, but for this processor, I'm proud. :-D

Settings are, if anyone wants to give it a go:

Just remember kiddies, I am water cooled on my CPU so air may be much testier.

CPU Ratio x20
BCLK: 200
PCIE: 102
DRAM: DDR 1600MHZ
QPI: 6407MHZ
CPU/PCH Clock Amplitude: Auto
CPU/PCH Clock Skew: Auto
Extreme OV: Disabled
Full Phase Control: Full Phase
Load-Line Calibration: Enabled
CPU Voltage Mode: VID
CPU Voltage: 1.35v
CPU PLL Voltage: 2.00075
IMC Voltage: 1.39125
PCH Voltage: 1.04675
DRAM Voltage: 1.65625
DRAM Data/CTRL Voltage on CHA/CHB: Auto

Components:

CPU - Intel I7 860 Lynfield 1156 2.8 ghz factory.
CPU Cooler - Corsair H50 Liquid Cooler
Motherboard - Asus Maximus III Formula
RAM - Mushkin 1600

Anyways, I'm just bragging...BE PROUD FOR ME DAMMIT! :lol:

3rdgen_IROC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: 3
  • #1 Brothel whore
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 10:37:47 AM »
What? Someone starts an overclocking thread while I have nothing but an intel MB? Darn.

I'll be attending a benching party in November (Hopefully), I'll bring back some screenshots. We'll have a TON of LN2 so I think I can come up with some intelburntest passes at 5/6ghz.

(Actually looks over the post)

Uh, I'm not that vested in the i7 stuff, but that PLL voltage looks a bit high. Also, you could probably hit 4.2-4.4 daily on that setup if you disabled HT or got a better cooler (Or a big fan on that H50 might work, I've always been a fan of the huge heatsinks over the low end WC though).
« Last Edit: August 12, 2010, 10:51:46 AM by 3rdgen_IROC »
"Guy I would love to BLOW"

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2010, 11:56:21 AM »
Still tweaking it. I was just happy I got it stable over 4 ghz with a shit cooler. :lol:

:droool: LN2

angry hampster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5022
  • Karma: 38
    • Lexa Photography
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2010, 06:27:51 PM »
Cool man! Not a big fan of the load temps, but it should still be fine under 75.

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2010, 08:40:26 PM »
I'm going to have to look at some better cooling options. H50 just isn't cutting it.

Tried to run OCCT today and it kept kicking out with an error on core 4. Raised my voltage and still nothing. So I dropped it back to 3.8, and that got rid of the error but it overheats during the test and the test quits anyways. So if anyone has some advice on my next cooling set up, I'm all ears. I'm keeping it stable in OCCT at 3.4 ghz for now.


EDIT: Back up to 3.8 stable. Turned off HT and strategically placed 2 fans to blow cooler air over the intakes. This desk really suffocates a computer. Dropped my temps to the mid 60s. Going for 4.2.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2010, 09:37:20 PM by Daemon »

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2010, 09:55:05 PM »
Welp, its up and running at 4.2, though its getting a little on the warm side. Now its time to tinker. I turned my vcore up to 140 for this so I could work my way back down. I'm not going to push past 4.2 just yet. It's getting too warm for my likings. After I get a better cooler I'll shoot for 4.4 and maybe even higher.

Time for some stress testing.





Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2010, 10:22:42 PM »
Final edit.

Turned HT off and turned the Vcore up to 1.36 and got it stable for a 6 min test in OCCT. I'll leave it on tonight and let it do some serious stress testing but I believe I have her stable at 4.013.

Better cooling, better desk, better location and I think I might be able to top 4.4. Not sure yet though. It laughed at me when I tried it earlier. I got it to boot at 4.2, as the pictures above show, but it wasn't stable in any length of testing. Withing 1 min 30 secs OCCT quacked at me. That was with VCore at 1.40 and just getting ready to go into the yellow range.


Final tests have my proc sitting at a shivering 34C.



When its being pushed, it now stays below the 68C mark.

I'm ok with that. :yup:


EDIT: Just noticed its sitting at 36 in that pic.  :lol: Ah well close enough. As long as those cores hover in the low 40s and over all it stays in the 30s, I'm a happy guy.

angry hampster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5022
  • Karma: 38
    • Lexa Photography
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2010, 10:32:50 PM »
OCCT is the only program you should be using for stress testing.  Prime95 isn't worth much on multi-core procs.

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2010, 11:00:06 PM »
OCCT is all I've been using since I downloaded it today. I like it MUCH better than Prime95. The interface, the readout, the graphs. Haven't even thought about P95 since early this morning. :lol:


BTW 24038 3DMarks :jim: :lmao:

I love this pc, though I do still have times I wish I had went with the 1366/920 and a 5970...but that's just bragging bullshit. Not enough of an increase in performance to justify the huge increase in price. I figured I would have added another grand to this already overpriced brick. :lol:
« Last Edit: August 12, 2010, 11:05:27 PM by Daemon »

JD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4028
  • Karma: -16
  • Ambitious, but rubbish
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2010, 11:47:42 PM »
It's times like this I realize how little I actually know about computers :lol: It's like a whole other language to me, lol

Quote from: meatywand
Mr. Bagged Milk Maaaaahzda. :lol:

Daemon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1928
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2010, 09:39:12 AM »
GET THAT DOG OUT OF HERE! I cant act all serious in my nerd speak when I'm laughing at that picture. :lmao:

Kalgorn

  • Super Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14090
  • Karma: 28
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2010, 10:03:14 AM »
What is the 'CPU' temp in Speedfan? I'm running the latest version of Speedfan and I don't have a 'CPU' listed, just all four cores. Is it because my CPU cooler isn't running off of a 3-pin board connection?

And why does the Speedfan in your first post show 6 cores?

I've got my it 750 running at 3.2ghz (3.3+ with turbo I think) and with a Cooler Master N520, my idle temps are in the high 30s. With Folding@Home running, my temps are in the low 40s. While gaming (with Folding running in the background), it gets up to low 50s. If I really max out my CPU (unrar a couple large files at once), temps start to rise to a little over 60, but still nothing to concern about.

I think I'll stay at 3.2ghz. I have no reason to go higher, really. I don't want to lessen the life too much on my CPU.

2002 Silverado | 1995 Talon TSi AWD | 1989 Prelude Si 4WS

3rdgen_IROC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: 3
  • #1 Brothel whore
Re: Broke 4 ghz on OC!
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2010, 08:49:52 PM »
I just now realized he was running a somewhat recent CPU with speedfan. Gotta use realtemp with the modern stuff.

"Guy I would love to BLOW"